Senator Collins to Chair Maine Legislature’s Transportation Committee

Krysta West
Communications Director
Senate Republican Office
(207) 287-1505


Senator Collins to Chair Maine Legislature’s Transportation Committee

York County Legislator will also serve on Veterans and Legal Affairs Committee

Augusta – Senate President Michael Thibodeau (R-Waldo) has announced that Senator Ron Collins (R-York) will continue to serve as chair of the Maine Legislature’s Transportation Committee during the 128th Legislature. This will be Senator Collins’ fourth Senate term on the committee and his third term as Chair.

“It’s an honor to continue to serve as Chair of the Transportation Committee for the next two years,” said Senator Collins. “Maintaining our infrastructure is important to attract tourists and new businesses to our state. While I’m very proud of the work we have done over the last several years to upgrade Maine’s roads and bridges, there is still much work to be done.”

“Senator Collins is a proven leader, serving several terms on the Transportation Committee,” said Senate President Michael Thibodeau. “His knowledge about Maine’s transportation infrastructure is second to none. I am confident that he will continue to do an outstanding job leading this committee over the next two years.”

Assistant Senate Majority Leader Andre Cushing (R-Penobscot) added, “Senator Collins has spent the last two years providing leadership to the Transportation Committee, which often faces contentious issues. While doing so, he has managed to prioritize work on our highway system and secondary roads well within the budget. No one is better prepared than Senator Collins to chair this important committee during the 128th Maine Legislature.”

In addition to the Transportation Committee, Senator Collins will also serve on the Veterans and Legal Affairs Committee, which will take up a number of important matters including implementation of the new marijuana law, passed on the November 2016 ballot.

Senator Collins is serving his fourth term in the Maine Senate, representing District 34 which includes communities in York County.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s