Maine Senate President Announces Senate Members of Marijuana Legalization Implementation Com.

Jim Cyr
Communications Director
Office of the Maine Senate President


AUGUSTA – Maine Senate President Michael Thibodeau (R-Waldo) today announced which senators will serve on the Select Committee on Marijuana Legalization Implementation Committee.

The Committee was established following a joint order from the Legislature earlier this month to address outstanding issues regarding implementation of the marijuana legalization which was approved by Maine voters last November.

“There is an enormous amount of work ahead for this committee because of the myriad of issues surrounding legalization that concern public safety, retail sales of the drug and state government oversight, to name a few. So instead of having individual committees examine each marijuana-related bill, it makes more sense to have one committee take a comprehensive approach and make recommendations to the full Legislature,” Senate President Thibodeau said.

Senate members of the Marijuana Legalization Implementation Committee are:

Chair: Senator Roger Katz (R-Kennebec)
Senator Kimberly Rosen (R-Hancock)
Senator Joyce Maker (R-Washington)
Senator Mark Dion (D-Cumberland)
Senator Susan Deschambault (D-York)

Late last week, the Maine Legislature unanimously approved an extension of the marijuana retail sales moratorium until February 1, 2018 in order to address concerns surrounding legalization.

The Marijuana Legalization Implementation Committee is expected to begin its work this week.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s