Senate President Appoints Senators to Committee of Conference to Reach Budget Agreement

Jim Cyr
Communications Director
Office of the Maine Senate President


AUGUSTA – Maine Senate President Michael Thibodeau (R-Waldo) today appointed three members to a committee of conference in an effort to reach an agreement following an impasse over the state’s biennial budget that begins on July 1, 2017.

Joint Rules of the Maine Legislature allow a committee of conference to be convened when there is a disagreement between the House and Senate over a particular bill. According to the rules, the committee includes three members of each chamber who voted on the prevailing side of a bill.

Lawmakers, thus far, have been unable to reach a budget agreement that will garner the necessary two-thirds majorities needed to pass a state budget by June 30, 2017.

Senate President Michael Thibodeau said, “There are a lot of good people working to make sure we are successful. I am confident that the members of the committee will work tirelessly to find a solution.”

The Senate members of the committee of conference are:

Senator Michael Thibodeau (R-Waldo)
Senator Roger Katz (R-Kennebec)
Senator Cathy Breen (D-Cumberland)

The committee of conference will begin its work at 7 pm this evening, June 13, 2017, at the State House with an organizational meeting.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s