Senator Scott Cyrway to Serve on Opiate Task Force

Krysta West
Communications Director
Senate Republican Office
(207) 287-1505


AUGUSTA – Maine Senate President Michael Thibodeau (R-Waldo) has announced his appointments to the Maine Legislature’s “Task Force to Address the Opioid Crisis in the State.”

The Maine Legislature established the committee following a record amount of opiate overdoses in Maine last year. On average, more than one person a day died from a fatal overdose in 2016.

The task force will examine current state laws regarding law enforcement, prevention, treatment and recovery. It will also review the report and recommendations of the Maine Opiate Collaborative issued on May 6, 2016 as well as initiatives that have been successfully undertaken in other states.

Members of the committee will include lawmakers, members of law enforcement, the medical community and drug treatment specialists.

“As a retired law enforcement officer and a current DARE training Coordinator, I know all too well how this addiction can ruin lives and tear families, and sometimes whole communities, apart,” said Senator Scott Cyrway (R-Kennebec). “That’s why I am so eager for the committee to get to work examining how we can combat this crisis in Maine.”

Other appointees of the committee include:

Maine Senate:
Senator Andre Cushing (R-Penobscot), Chair
Senator James Dill (D-Penobscot)
Senator Geoffrey Gratwick (D-Penobscot)

Other appointees:
Katie Fullam Harris-Opioid Treatment Facility
Dr. Steven Diaz- Augusta Administrator of Hospital
Gordon Smith-Association of Physicians
Sherriff Jeff Trafton-Law Enforcement



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s